Asianheritage Awards

Go to content

Main menu




Asian Heritage
2920 First Avenue Suite G
San Diego, CA

Asian Heritage Awards 2013:
Gala Chairpersons
Dr. Shu Chien
Dr. Lilly Cheng

AHA 2013 Nominating Committee
Binh Tran, PharmD
Len Novarro
Rosalynn Carmen
Julia Cheng
Dr. Lilly Cheng
Dr. Alan Gin
Dr. Estela Matriano, Ed.D.
Jaye Van Kirk, M.A.
Dr. Otto Lee, Ed. D.
Dr. Ten Shang Joh
tanya pham

Rosalynn Carmen

Leonard Novarro

U.S. Rep. Susan Davis
County Commissioner Ron Roberts

Produced by the Asian Heritage Society, a 501c3 IRS tax-exempt non-profit charity


“We honor these men, women and organizations who have dedicated their lives for the betterment of humanity and community.”
    This is the essence of the Asian Heritage Awards.

    The annual Asian Heritage Awards is the largest celebration of Asian achievement in California and has been acknowledged by Congress, the State of California, the federal government, U.S. Navy, the city of San Diego’s Human Relations Commission and the San Diego Press Club as a public service. This year’s event – the eleventh – will be held Saturday, November. 19-22, 2014 at the California Center for the Arts in San Diego, beginning with a 5:30 p.m. reception and a gala formal dinner, with entertainment, beginning at 7 p.m. Proceeds from the event benefit the Society’s BOOSTEM education program for middle school females of Asian and Hispanic descent to give them a heads up on meeting future global and technological change.

    Since its inception in 2004, more than 5,000 leaders in government, business, industry and education have attended the Awards and ceremony.

    Honorees have included UCSD Chancellor Pradeep Khosla, California Controller John Chiang, San Diego’s first Asian elected to public office Tom Hom, retired Army Major General Antonio Taguba, Rear Admiral Ron J. MacLaren, 2012 National Medal of Science recipient Dr. Shu Chien and the Habitat for Humanity. Winners in 2013 hailed from the following ethnic backgrounds:  Filipino (Tony Olaes, Council for Teaching Filipino Language and Culture); Vietnamese (Anhlan Nguyen, Chris Phan. Loc Le, Frank Jao); Asian Indian (Shashin Desai, Dr. Pradeep Khosla); Chinese (Dr. Will Tseng, Sally Wong-Avery); Korean (Sarah Hakala); Thai (Darnai “Paul” Ngawjeenandand); Asian centric (Lions Clubs of San Diego).

    Past major sponsors include SDG&E, U.S. Navy, Phamatech, Kyocera International, Barona Resort and Casino, Pechanga Resort and Casion, UCSD, Alliant International University, Time Warner Cable, Avery-Tsuis Foundation, Ford Motor Company Fund, Kaiser Permanente, UPS, Hom Family Foundation. Click here  for 2014 sponsorship information.

    For more on last year’s event click here
Tickets to the Eleventh Annual Asian Heritage Awards are available now.
Individual Tickets: $250; Tables: $2,500
Early Bird/Individual tickets: $200; Tables: $1,850/ Deadline June 1, 2014
Click here to reserve now.


Back to content | Back to main menu